Google’s Pixelbook is my new favorite travel buddy

 The Google Pixelbook is a bit of an odd duck among notebooks, or among tablets – or even among notebook/tablet hybrids. It’s a Chromebook, which by now is an established category, though one with very specific appeal; and it runs Android apps, which makes it feel very much like an iPad competitor. It’s a great device in terms of hardware build and general performance, but… Read More

Read more

The Pixel 2/Home Mini bundle is a big deal for Google Assistant

 Today’s Google event was a non-stop two hour deluge of Assistant news. Yet one small, overlooked announcement may have been the biggest bit boost to the company’s burgeoning AI ecosystem so far. The simple decision to include a Home Mini in early Pixel 2 shipments could prove a more successful method for spreading the Assistant gospel than anything Google has done to this point.… Read More

Read more

Google Lens will finally make its debut on Pixel phones later this year

 Google first demoed Lens, its smart Google Assistant-connected image recognition app, at its I/O developer conference earlier this year. At the time, it was one of the highlights of the show, but like so many other announcements at the time, the company wasn’t quite ready to release it to the public yet and only said that it would arrive “soon.” That was in May.
As Google… Read More

Read more

This is the Google Pixel 2, arriving October 17 for $649

 They say sequels are never quite as good as the original, but after releasing one of 2017’s best phones, Google’s hoping lighting will strike a second time with the Pixel 2. The company is teaming up with HTC once again — the runaway success of last year’s Pixel was clearly a driving force in its decision to buy the company’s mobile division earlier this year.… Read More

Read more

Watch Google unveil the Pixel 2 live right here

 Google’s big event is today. And this time, it’s all about new devices — the company should unveil a handful of new hardware products. The event will start at 9 AM in San Francisco, 12 PM in New York, 5 PM in London, 6 PM in Paris. And we already know what to expect. The big elephant in the room is Google’s new flagship Android phone, the Pixel 2 and Pixel 2 XL. It… Read More

Read more

This leaked look at the Google Pixel 2 XL’s front face is promising

 Google’s Pixel 2 launch event is only a couple of days away, but the hype cycle is in high gear – and a new leak has me even more excited to see what Google officially unveils on Wednesday. Serial (and mostly accurate) leaker Evan Blass has posted images he says depict the Google Pixel 2 XL viewed from the front, including a display with minimal bezels that matches up with rumors… Read More

Read more