How to watch Oscars 2018 live stream online

It's the most glamorous night of the showbiz year tonight as the 90th Oscars gets underway in Los Angeles.

Tonight's ceremony takes place at the famous Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, with Jimmy Kimmel hosting for the second year in a row.

Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri is the bookies' favourite for the coveted Best Picture award, although it will face fierce competition from the Shape of Water, whose director Guillermo del Toro is many people's choice for the Best Director gong.

For the individual prizes, Britain's Gary Oldman is odds-on to take the Best Actor prize for his role as Winston Churchill in Darkest Hour, with Frances McDormand the overwhelming favourite for Best Actress for Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri.

However the Oscars is always notable for throwing up a few surprises – not least after last year's Best Picture fiasco, where Moonlight eventually top the top award.

The ceremony is set start at 1.30am UK time, so if you're looking to catch all the action, and can't get to a TV, here is TechRadar's guide to watching all the action online, wherever you are in the world.

1. How to watch Oscars 2018 online

This is the best way to watch Oscars 2018 online – from absolutely anywhere in the world – without any commercial breaks:

2. How to watch Oscars 2018 in the UK in its entirety:

If you’re in the UK, the Oscars 2018 award ceremony is being shown live on Sky Cinema Oscars, with coverage starting from 1.30am GMT.  The full ceremony will also be repeated at 8am the following morning, with highlights of all the major moments at 8pm. 

Sky Cinema subscribers will be able to stream the action online via SkyGo and the SkyGo app. 

Coverage is also available via Now TV, where users can get access through the Sky Cinema Pass. If you want to save your pennies, Now TV also offers a free 14 day trial, so you could even catch it for free, then it costs £9.99 for a month pass.

For the first time, the Oscars is also being shown live on the Academy's Facebook page – you can watch all the coverage starting from arrivals on the red carpet from 5.30pm PT/8.30pm ET/12.30am GMT.

3. How to watch Oscars 2018 in the US in its entirety:

As mentioned above, if you're not based in the UK and want to watch the Oscars 2018 live, you won't be able to access the Sky Cinema coverage without using a VPN.

For viewers in the US, ABC is hosting the live broadcast of the show, with red carpet coverage from 6.30pm ET/3.30PM PT on ABC Go, and the ceremony starting at 8pm ET/5pm PT.

And as mentioned above, the Oscars is also being shown live on the Academy's  Facebook page, as well as on the ABC TT Facebook page, on Oscar.com, and via ABCNews.com.  

Stay safe during the Oscars 2018

Photos courtesy of Oscar.com.

Leave a Reply